Divorce Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey divorce laws have maintained the traditional fault based grounds
for divorce, which can include, but is not limited to, adultery, extreme cruelty,
desertion for at least 12 months, and 18 months of continued separation. Under
this concept, you must have a valid reason for a divorce in New Jersey. Additionally,
one of the spouses must have resided in New Jersey for at least 1 year before
filing for a divorce, unless your are suing for a fault ground of adultery.
In this case you may file immediately without restriction to your residence.
Alimony & Equitable Distribution in New Jersey
New Jersey is known as an equitable distribution state. According to the divorce
laws in New Jersey this means that the marital property must be divided fairly
or equitably, but not necessarily equally. The property may be distributed based
on a voluntary agreement between the spouses, or when an agreement cannot be
reached, by order of the judge.
Alimony can be granted to either the husband or wife, under New Jersey divorce
laws. Such relevant economic factors as the length of the marriage, the parties’
prior living standard and the spouses’ income are considered in determining
the amount that should be paid to the requesting spouse.
New Jersey Child Support, Child Custody and Child Visitation