levitra"> levitra"> Divorce Interactive - Connecticut CT Divorce Law Lawyers
levitra

Click to go home.

Google
 

Search:
 

Survival Tools
& Resources
Divorce & Finance Blog
Divorce Discussion
Forums
Divorce Help Desk
Divorce Resource Library
Professional & 
Resource Directory
State Divorce Information
New Trends in Divorce
 
 
Divorced or Separated Individuals (IRS Pub 504)
Divorce News
Subscribe to Divorce Interactive News
Ask the Expert
     Financial Planner
Columns
     Parental Guidance
     Child-Centered Solutions
Divorce Interactive Newsletter
Divorce Books
Glossary





Connecticut Divorce Law

Divorce Laws in Connecticut

According to Connecticut divorce laws, you do not need to prove grounds for a divorce. The court will issue a judgment of divorce on the grounds that the marriage has “irretrievably broken down.” This is referred to as a no fault divorce. Additionally, you must reside in Connecticut for at least 12 months to qualify to file for a judgment of divorce in Connecticut. You may file immediately. However, final judgment will not be entered until after you have been a resident for 12 months.

Alimony & Equitable Distribution in Connecticut

Connecticut is known as an “all property equitable distribution state.” According to the divorce laws in Connecticut, the state has the power “to assign to either the husband or wife all or any part of the estate of the other.” The court then, regardless of when or how it was acquired, can redistribute any property. Additionally, property acquired before marriage is sometimes considered the separate property of the person who acquired it, and would not be subject to the distribution laws under divorce law in Connecticut. The conduct or fault of the parties can also be a factor in determining the division of assets and awarding alimony.

Alimony can be a gift that a spouse is not absolutely entitled to, according to Connecticut divorce laws. It is also not awarded with the intent to punish a guilty spouse. It is, however, meant for the spouse to continue a duty to support the other.

Connecticut Child Support and Child Custody

Connecticut divorce law defines sole legal custody as “the right of one parent to make all the decisions with respect to the upbringing of the child.” However, he or she may not be able to permanently take the children from Connecticut without the prior permission of the other parent or the court. Child custody is generally a decision made in the best interests of the children. This can include consistency of care, time commitment and keeping important appointments, such as with doctors. In the matter of young children, the mother is usually awarded custody. However, according to divorce laws in Connecticut, the father is considered a necessary disciplinary figure in the life of a teenager and therefore has a better chance of receiving custody.

Child support (a percentage of the non-custodial parent’s income paid to assist with the support of his children) is determined by the “child support guidelines” as set forth by divorce law in Connecticut. A Child Support worksheet and instructions can be found at your local Connecticut Superior Court. Expect to pay child support until at least 18 years of age, known as the age of emancipation, or until high school graduation, which ever occurs first.