BEING RECOGNIZED AS A
BEING RECOGNIZED AS A "LEGAL"
By Maury D. Beaulier, Esq.
In order to be recognized as a father under
Minnesota's law, an order must be entered adjudicating paternity. This does not
necessarily require court proceedings. A father may sign a "Recognition of
Parentage" which creates a presumption that the signing person is the child's
WHAT IS A RECOGNITION OF PARENTAGE?
The Recognition of Parentage (ROP) is a legal document
that establishes a man as the father of a child when the parents are not
married. Both parents must sign this document before a Notary Public. Parents
may execute this document at the time the child is born or afterwards in order
to have the father recognized as the legal parent.
If the parents are under the age of 18, they may still
sign the ROP form which will then create a presumption
of paternity. It allows the father legal rights and imposes on him legal
responsibilities that may necessary to formalize in court in the event that
either party raises paternity, custody, visitation or child support issues.
If the parents are age 18 or older when a ROP is signed,
that document will become the equivalent of an order of the Court adjudicating
paternity if it is not contented within 30 days after the signing. By
establishing paternity, the ROP grants the parents certain legal rights and
establishes legal responsibilities related to the minor child.
Each parent has a legal duty to support the child
financially. A child cannot get court ordered child support from a father unless
that father is recognized as the child's legal father through an adjudication of
paternity or signing a ROP.
Additionally, each parent has a right to access school and
medical records related to the minor child.
WHERE DO WE ACQUIRE A RECOGNITION OF PARENTAGE
A ROP may usually be acquired at signed at the hospital
when the child is born. After the child's birth, you may still sign a ROP by
acquiring that document from the Minnesota Department of Human Services (612)
296-2542, an area hospital, a child support agency, an attorney or from the
State Registrar of Vital Statistics.
The ROP is filed with the State Registrar of Vital
Statistics. If the form is signed at the hospital, the hospital will file the
form for you at no additional cost. If you file the form some time after the
child's birth, it must be filed with the State Registrar of Vital Statistics
with a small fee.
The address is :
State Registrar of Vital Statistics,
Minnesota Department of Health, 717 Delaware Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
DO WE NEED A RECOGNITION OF PARENTAGE FORM IF WE
Living together may create a presumption of paternity, but
it does not establish the father as the child's legal father. This means that
child support cannot be ordered by the Court and the father is not entitled to
any legal rights such as access to records or visitation.
HOW DO WE GET THE FATHER'S NAME ON THE BIRTH
Parents signing a ROP at the hospital after the
child's birth will automatically have their names placed on the child's birth
certificate. If the ROP is signed at a later time, the father's name may be
added to the birth certificate upon presenting a certified copy of the ROP to
the State Registrar of Vital Statistics. A small fee is charged to change the
DOES SIGNING A RECOGNITION OF PARENTAGE MEAN I
CANNOT LATER CONTEST PATERNITY?
Paternity may be challenged even after a ROP is signed. If
you change you mind within 30 days of signing the ROP, you can sign a Revocation
of Recognition. This cancels the ROP. The revocation must be signed before a
notary in the same way that the ROP itself was signed. The revocation may be
acquired form and must also be filed with the Registrar of Vital Statistics
within 30 days of signing the ROP to be effective.
If you do not sign and file a Revocation within 30 days,
you may still ask the court to vacate the ROP by commencing an action to
disclaim paternity. In order to challenge an ROP, you must demonstrate a good
reason to change your mind. A good reason may be that you later discovered that
you may not be the child's father.
However, there are very strict time requirements for
challenging paternity once it has been established by a ROP. Under Minnesota
Statutes § 257.57, you must contest paternity within one year after signing the
ROP. If after one year, you still may contest paternity with six months after
obtaining blood test results that indicate you are not the child's father.
The legislature has set this statute of limitations for
contesting paternity believing that the it is in the child's best interests to
rely on one person as his/her father after a parental relationship has been
established. Knowing their legal father provides children with a sense of
security and identity. Additionally, children with recognized legal fathers may
have rights to benefits based on the father's relationship with them (eg. social
security, veteran's benefits, worker's compensation, health care coverage,
inheritance rights, tribal registration).
DivorceInteractive.com tries to provide
quality information, but cannot guarantee the accuracy, completeness or adequacy
of the information, opinions or other content posted on the site. It is not
intended as a substitute for and should not be relied upon as legal, financial,
accounting, tax, medical or other professional advice. It should not be
construed as establishing a professional-client or professional-patient
relationship. The applicability of legal principles is subject to amendment by
the legislature, interpretation by the courts and different application by
different judges and may differ substantially in individual situations or
different states. Before acting on what you have read, it is important to obtain
appropriate professional advice about your particular situation and facts.
Access to and use of DivorceInteractive.com is subject to additional
Terms and Conditions. DivorceInteractive.com
is a secure site and respects your Privacy.
Advertise With Us |
Professional & Resource Directory
Divorce News | Glossary | Divorce Discussion Forums
DivorceInteractive.com All Rights Reserved.