Arkansas Divorce Law
Divorce Laws in Arkansas
Arkansas divorce laws have maintained the traditional fault based grounds for
divorce, which can include, but is not limited to, adultery, cruel and barbarous
treatment, and 18 months of continued voluntary separation. Under this concept,
you must have a valid reason for a divorce in Arkansas. Additionally, one of
the spouses must have been a resident in the state of Arkansas for at least
90 days prior to filing for divorce in AR.
Alimony & Equitable Distribution in Arkansas
Arkansas is known as an equitable distribution state. According to the divorce
laws in Arkansas this means that the marital property must be divided equally.
Separate property, or property owned prior to the marriage, shall be retained
by the owning spouse.
Alimony can be awarded to either the husband or wife in installments. Such
factors as the length of the marriage, the partiesí prior living standard,
etc. are considered in determining the amount and duration that should be paid.
Arkansas Child Support, Child Visitation and Child Custody
The main focus in determining child custody, according to AR divorce law, is
the best interest of the children. Visitation rights are typically awarded to
the non custodial parent.
Child support (a percentage of the non-custodial parentsí income paid
to assist with the support of his children) is determined by the Varying Percentage
of Income model, based on net income as set forth by divorce law in Arkansas.
Expect to pay child support until the age of 18 or the child becomes a high